more lemonade…

I was reminded of an old post on my flickr account today.  The text was this… My 11 yr old son is the smartest guy I know. He doesn’t know how to lie. He smiles when he’s happy, which is almost always, and art class is that thing you have to do to get to the stuff you want to do. So, we were talking the other day and it went like this: Me: J, what do you do when you want something, but you can’t have it no matter what? J: You can’t have it no matter what? Me: Nope. J: Want something else. Man, I love that kid.

Today, my sister, who also believes that she is my personal emotional trainer, insisted on dragging me off my comfy red couch before I became part of it.  There was a party going on in my apartment.  Pity was the host.   I lost someone very special last night.  When I say lost, what I really mean is, he left.  Reasons only matter when something can be fixed.  In this case, reasons don’t matter.  The truth is, people leave.  I know why.  I understand it.  I didn’t want it.

At the end of the day, I bought books instead of next week’s groceries.  And my son, who is now 13, is still the smartest guy I know.

Leave a Reply

