There was ice…

… and there were lights.  And air, absolutely charged with electricity.  And some of the most talented athletes I have ever seen in person.  Last night, I went to my first NHL game.  Hockey.  Who knew?  I have to say, watching it live was so much more impressive, and for me, so much easier to follow.  I was literally on the edge of my seat for most of the game.  I think I might have uttered an expletive or two, but even those were a result of being totally engulfed.  It’s too bad they were uttered in front of my 13 year old son.  (who, at one point uttered back, ‘excellent parenting, mom’)…

It was a night.  It was perfect.  There were no life-metaphors.  No analyzing.  Just ice.  And some guys from Vancouver being slammed into walls…

So, when someone just texted and asked me who won?…

2 thoughts on “There was ice…

  1. Your photographs are just beautiful. And I really like the things you write too (and the way you write it).
    I discovered Hockey during the Winter Olympics and I really like it. It is very impressive and intense. I really wish I could see a live game too.

    • Thank you! It’s so intense and so fast-paced that it’s difficult to be anywhere but right there in it. I think that’s part of what I love about it.

Leave a Reply

