yesterday…

I was driving home from work.  Tired.  It’s been a busy time getting ready for a show this weekend.  So, my patience is a little tapped. (for everyone who just made a sarcastic remark, either out loud or in your head, shame on you).  Ok, I almost home.  I can see the driveway and I’m already thinking about that cup of tea.  And then… the school bus… just what you don’t want to see.  And it is stopping.  Lights flashing.  I made that sound somewhere between a growl and throat-clearing.  Of course… of course, the mother is there to greet her child.  Standing at the door of the bus.  And she begins to talk to the driver.  My first thought, maybe my only thought was, ‘Really?  Your child needs you to talk to the driver?  Everyday?  You can’t let him just get off the bus and walk ALL the way to the front door by himself?  Moms today.  Overinvolved.  wow.’    Not completely unfair, right?  Not a harmful thought really.  A little judgey, maybe.

And finally her child, maybe all of 9 or 10 years old stepped off the bus.  He had the gait of a child with cerebral palsy.  I don’t need to tell you what I felt.  I felt what you would’ve felt.  And there were a few tears.  and repentance.  and I stilled my mind because nothing else seemed enough.

Albert Einstein said, “We are part of the whole which we call the universe, but it is an optical delusion of our mind that we think we are separate.  This separateness is like a prison for us.  Our job is to widen the circle of our compassion so we feel connected with all people and situations.”

Leave a Reply

