and stupid bridges

With all the traveling I have done lately, both literal and figurative, I have paid a lot of attention to roads.  Where they are and where they take me and who I am on them with.  In all that, however, I forgot about the bridges.  Not a big fan of bridges.  I don’t know if it’s the lack of sure-footedness, the fact that they are not solid ground, sometimes the height, I don’t know.  Yesterday, I was on one.  Figuratively.  I was at a point where I couldn’t go backward.  I couldn’t stay where I was.  I could only go forward and that meant crossing this stupid bridge.  And for all the yammering I do about faith and trust, I would think bridges would be no problem.  It’s taking that first step.  Leaving what I know to be solid.  Here’s what I saw.  Standing in the middle of the bridge.  The solid ground is inside me.  Not underneath me.  Focusing on the other side.  Holding the hand of the person who also sits beside me on the roller coaster.  And before long.  There I am.  Over it.  One of these days, I will stand there long enough to look over the side.

Leave a Reply

