Merry Christmas and love letters

I woke up this morning to absolute quiet.  And it was glorious to hear my own heartbeat.  My own breath.  It’s been a few weeks, maybe longer since I’ve done that.  After some prayer, I eased back to myself and then the strangest thing happened.  There, in the dark, in the early hours of Christmas morning, I began to compose a love letter.  First, I filed back in my mind’s eye to find an image of the recipient’s face during a really happy peaceful time.  And it flowed so easily from that point.  It was simple.  Kind.  Full of love in its first blossom.  It was full of comfort.  And smiles of familiarity, because I know secrets.  It was sweet and forgiving and caring.  And it started, “Merry Christmas.  Dear Ellen… ”

_ELL1082

One thought on “Merry Christmas and love letters

Leave a Reply

