golden slumbers

Golden slumbers,
Fill your eyes
Smiles await you when you rise
Sleep pretty darling
Do not cry
And I will sing a lullaby.   ~The Beatles

I used to sing this to my son when he was a baby.   He turned 16 today.  My baby is over six feet tall.  And his smile still lights me up like it did when he was little and we would race up the stairs to “naptime”…  I would have to trick him to make him think I wasn’t going to make a break for the stairs.  And then he would see me out of the corner of his eye and  RUN!  and if I were ahead, he would pull my foot out from under me and climb over my back when I fell.  And we would laugh so hard we would BOTH need naps by the time we made it upstairs.  He can do trig, no problem.  He’s been helping his older sister with her math since he was eight.  But he can’t figure out that if you step on a pool cover while it’s over the pool, you WILL get wet.  Very wet.  My life is worth whatever it is, for at least two reasons.  My son is one of them.  Happy Birthday, Chester.

jesse

One thought on “golden slumbers

Leave a Reply

