lasts.

As I approached the last day of this year, 2012, I was hardest hit by the concept of lasts.  I wondered how different my life would have been over the years had I lived as if every day events were lasts.  Not with the sadness that might accompany those lasts, but with the idea of treasuring those times.  Kissed my husband as if it were the last time I would kiss him.  Looked into his eyes the same way.  Said goodbye at the airport like I would never say goodbye again.  Touched his face with my hand.  I wish I had listened to his voice tell me he loved me as if I might never hear it again.  I wish I had listened to anything that way.  How differently I might have lived.  Because you never know, right.  So, if I could tell myself, or anyone, one thing on this last day of the year, I would say, Kiss him as if it might be the last time.  Listen to his words the same.  Speak like it might be the last thing he hears.  Love, with everything you have… like it’s your last chance… love.

wednesday mornings

One thought on “lasts.

Leave a Reply

