old long since

Auld Lang Syne.  I have given this song some consideration and appropriately so.  It seems like my life, not unlike the lives of others, has been nothing but letting go and starting again.  Letting go.  Of times.  Of long ago and not so long ago.  And starting again.  And again.  And today is no different.  I suppose I have always known it and I have made a vow to begin living it.  Good and bad… letting go.  Forgetting what I can.  The bad will be easy enough to let fall away.  But I think, as I head forward, I will try to let fall from my heart some of the good too.  To make room for more good to come in.  I think it will be like waving goodbye to a trusted friend… letting go of a hand… glad for the way it filled my heart once, a little sad to see it go, but hopeful that I am fuller because of it and open to welcome what comes after.  So, take a cup of kindness and have a happy, healthy, peaceful New Year.

auld lang syne

4 thoughts on “old long since

Leave a Reply

