of all things…

chair and other light

The word, surrender, means to yield.  To relinquish.  To submit.  To completely give up control or power.  To stop resisting.  And this concept of handing something over, can happen in steps.  Sometimes.  This time.  It has taken a lot to pry my fists open to let go of something.  And the strange thing about it is that it didn’t happen like I thought it would.  There was no bitterness involved.  No reluctance in the end.  What finally loosened my grip was love itself.  The most powerful force in the universe.  The only force that could break through my will to hang on.  It broke through my reasoning.  My hopes.  My beliefs.  And even with all of its power, Love opened my hands, gently.  Sweetly.  With grace.  Someday, I hope if I practice enough, I will get good at surrendering to this love.  And a lot more quickly.

Leave a Reply

